New Orleans Consular Corps Elects New Officers

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

January 16, 2013—The Consular Corps of New Orleans has elected a new slate of officers to guide the 53-person organization for 2013-2014.

The Honorable Constance C. Willems, Honorary Consul General of The Netherlands has been elected Dean of the Corps, to be assisted by The Honorable Jean-Claude Brunet, Consul General of France, The Honorable Greg Jamison Beuerman, Honorary Consul of Iceland as Secretary, and the Honorable Ronald Vandenweghe, Honorary Consul of Belgium who was re-elected as Treasurer.

The Consular Corps represents 53 nations in facilitating trade, cultural and educational exchange and understanding between nations on six continents and several southern states including Louisiana.  Both career and honorary consuls are appointed by their nation’s respective Foreign Ministries with the approval of the United States Department of State.